24th November 2023

Fresh November Updates

It's taking me a really long time to finish typing up the things I did on my trip, so I wanted to make an entry to share what I did in the time since my trip. I had been wanting to make an update but holding off since I hadn't finished my previous update, but I felt like I had been putting it off for too long because of this, and it is already almost the end of November.

Coordinate Updates

Coordinate worn to go to a Chinese food restaurant with friends.

Features cloak, dress, and hairband from Atelier Pierrot, socks from Estrellas, shoes from Steve Madden, necklace from DarklingBeloved, ring from Néant Glass.

I was really excited to go to this restaurant, as I think I mentioned in earlier posts that it kept being delayed, the outfit that I decided on ended up being more like a cute party outfit with a cloak. I do want to mention that the cloak did match! It was just that the jacquard looked a little different in different lighting.

Coordinate worn to go to an Italian food restaurant with friends.

I didn't get chance to take a close-up picture, in fact, the picture I got in the mirror here was the only picture I managed to get, but this was my LaLuice purple bunny bag's first outing!

Other things that I wore were: Headdress, blouse, corset and jumperskirt from Atelier Pierrot. Necklace from Néant Glass. Tights were unbranded, and the shoes were from Elf Armorie, a brand on Taobao.

At the restaurant, I ate this pizza. I also ate some olives, and some pistachio gelato, and pondered upon my ancestry.

Coordinate worn to go to the museum with my local lolita community.

All items Atelier Pierrot with the exception of: the bag is LaLuice, the shoes are New Rock, and the necklace and ring are Néant Glass.

This was more of an aristocrat coordinate, but I really wanted to try out this combination, and I wasn't sure when I'd get an opportunity as good as this one again.

Coordinate worn to go and buy a sandwich from the shop.

The jumperskirt is Physical Drop, the hat is from New Look, the blouse and cardigan are both Atelier Pierrot, the tights are unbranded, and the boots are from Clarks. Oh, and the necklace is from Pandora.

This coordinate is very toned-down compared to the others, the goal of this coordinate was to look a little more toned-down, and to look like I might fit in in an office environment. I think it worked out quite well.

Hair Update

I recently decided to try out a wavy hair package called Merwave, intended for people with wavy hair. Up until I cut it short in... maybe 2022, I'd been treating my hair mostly as though it was straight, meaning that I was blow drying it straight and brushing it flat. For a while I kept looking after it in a way that would help to preserve it, since I wanted to grow it back out long. This meant, for example, using low heat, and avoiding washing it every day. Overall I'm quite pleased with how it is working out right now. I can definitely see a difference in how my hair looks - the picture in red is before I started, and the picture in purple is after. Though I'm not entirely sure yet whether it's worth the extra time it takes to wash and dry it.

Coordinate Collages

The event on the Lolita Fashion Mentoring discord this month, was to make a coordinate based around a randomly generated colour. Below are the two coordinates I came up with for this. The colours I received were a mint colour, a dusky brown colour, and a neon green colour.

My favourite of the three coordinates is probably the neon green. I wanted to give it a really powerful punky colour scheme, but ended up getting really inspired by the emo aesthetics I remember from when I was a teenager. It was a lot of fun to put this particular coord together, but it was also a little sad, since I realised how little of the popular alternative fashion from my teens had survived in the same form.

The last colour I have for this challenge is purple! Since this is my favourite colour, and one that I have a lot of pieces for, I'd really like to do an actual coord for this colour. I have a couple of coords that I've been planning that I want to try out, so I'm hoping that I get to try these before the end of the month. Even if just to take pictures!