Travelling Up

On the first day, my boyfriend and I got on a plane! I had a packet of crisps and a can of Austrian coca cola on the plane, and the flight attendants gave me some free chocolate. Something that I always notice when travelling to European countries is that the shape of cans is different. While the volume of the container is the same, the cans in the UK are shorter and more squat, while the European cans tend to be longer and narrower. I'm quite scared of planes which is part of why I don't travel that much. It's also because I never think to plan trips.

We were then picked up at the airport by two men who my boyfriend had been friends with online for the past few years. On the way to our accommodation, we were shown a few different parts of town, including the castle we would be visiting, and we stopped by a burger restaurant which sold enormous gourmet burgers. I didn't get any pictures but the burger I ate had a black bun, and the meat was cooked medium, which was a new experience for me, since usually the meat would be cooked more well done on burgers back home.

After this, we put our belongings into the house we were staying in, and then we went to the winery that one of the people we were visiting worked at for the evening, this was really nice as it was an opportunity for me to get more familiar with the people we were staying with. We tried a variety of snacks that go with wine, and since I don't drink alcohol I tried an alcohol-free wine that they had in stock. I also tried some incredibly sweet juice made with the wine grapes. This was a little sweeter than I would have wanted it, I think it would have been really nice mixed with something like lemonade or tonic water to make it fizzy and a little less sweet.

We had brought some sweets with us from a trip we'd taken to Blackpool, we had traditional Blackpool rock, and also a few different flavours of fudge. I don't think anyone was that impressed with the rock – it's sweet but kind of hard to eat – but the fudge went down really well, especially the most common flavour, clotted cream fudge. Well, this was definitely the best flavour.

We went home to our room after the winery. The room had some really cool porcelain dolls which I took photos of. We then went to bed, to get ready for the next day.