Reflection on the End of 2023

If I looked at the kind of metrics that most adults look at to measure how successful their year was, it would be hard to look at the past year and feel like I haven't wasted my time. I've spent the past year feeling exhausted, and that hasn't exactly been conducive to getting any kind of promotions. I have no plans for marriage, or children. I already own a home, I'd like to upgrade it someday but right now it is mostly just a matter of waiting to save up the money.

But just because my year wasn't that successful in many peoples' metrics, well, first of all, why would I even need to measure myself against these metrics, life isn't all about growth, I'm not a business, I'm a person, and it's perfectly okay to have a year where things just stay the same and you move along at a pace you can relax and feel comfortable. But secondly, this doesn't mean that I haven't done anything to make my year a success.

I think the biggest thing this year that has made my year quite different from others, is that I put such a heavy focus on improving my sense of style. I made it my goal at the end of last year that I'd like to go to a couple of lolita events, and not only did I go to quite a lot of lolita events throughout the year, many people didn't realise that this was my first year wearing lolita fashion, which gave me a feeling that I had succeeded in finding a fashion style that worked for me, that I felt comfortable in, as well as becoming fairly good at styling this fashion style. I have made many acquaintances and new friends from interacting with the lolita community, which has given me a space where I can be social and feel appreciated. I have events that I am looking forward to in the upcoming year, which I have chosen to attend, rather than waiting for others to purchase tickets and give me approval to go. I'm really excited for this.

The next thing is that I started this website! My website isn't that much just now, but it has been a really nice time being involved in the neocities and older-style web community, and I do find that I've had a lot of fun creating pages for my website and coming up with creative ways to work with the medium of early web development styles. I'm looking forward to finishing some pages and adding more pages in 2024, and maybe making some changes to existing pages, I'm not sure yet.

I also had a period of time where I got involved with editing a Wiki. I don't know that I will continue to do this going forward, as I haven't been working on it the past few months, but it is possible that I will continue to make updates to the Hello Kitty fandom wiki. I always wanted to get involved in adding data to a wiki, so it was nice to do. Although I don't tend to edit the Hello Kitty wiki anymore, I have added some entries to Lolibrary, a database documenting lolita clothing, and I was incredibly excited when my first entry on there was published – this can be found here.

Other things that I did, I went on a plane without any parents for the first time! It was really scary to catch a plane like that, but I had a lot of fun while I was there. I still don't like airports or being on planes though. I got a new car, though technically I ordered that last year. I increased my collection of Kuromi merchandise (though like many purchases I'm trying to slow down with this now). And I also spent some time styling, photographing, and displaying my dolls.

Overall I think this year has been fairly successful as years go. Now to think about things I'd like to do in the next year!

Goals for 2024

It is quite hard to choose goals for the upcoming year, but here are a few things I'd like to consider in 2024:

  • Wear lolita fashion at least once a week (more frequently if possible) - I want to make the most of my wardrobe, and wearing it frequently is the best way to do this. It will also help me to identify any gaps.
  • Draw at least once a week.
  • Complete my first save of Baldurs Gate 3.
  • Reconnect more with my FF14 Free Company – I haven't been playing with them as much and I'm starting to miss the conversation.
  • Document my lolita accessories – this is a moving goalpost but I didn't buy a mini photo studio for nothing!
  • Attend larger lolita events but continue to go to smaller ones also.
  • Get into an exercise routine! I have been struggling with tasks that I used to find quite easy, so I suspect that I need to recover some of my muscle ability a little. Ideally I don't want to be struggling while carrying my shopping in from the car.
  • Improve Japanese language. I need to get back on Wanikani, and complete more of the lessons from my Genki Japanese book. I would love to get to a level where I can be comfortable in the language, but right now I need to focus on how to bring it into my routine more.
  • Read a book. (Dracula?)
  • Finish the border for my very heavy crochet blanket!!!

Well, I am sure I will think of more things to add to my goals, but for now these are the things that I can think of. And to anyone reading this, I hope you have a lovely 2024!