12th January 2024

10:00am - Comic

I created this comic yesterday, based on the classic prank telephone call joke "Is your refrigerator running?". It was a joke that I made during work, which fell flat, but I knew that it was really a great reimagining of a classic joke. This was my first time making a comic, and it was really hard to figure out how I could express the feeling of the joke, and make the wordplay clear. I'm not sure it really came out how I wanted it to, but it did get a laugh from my friend, so that's good enough for me.

Panel 1: text of a console error message with the caption'A program is already running'; Panel 2: picture of an object head of a retro computer monitor with a determined face, and the text 'you'd better go and catch it'

Seeing it against my website's background, the colour scheme looks kinda strange and out-of-place, so perhaps if I make any more comics in the future I will make them in a colour scheme that matches my website a little more. Even though I really love purple...

11:30am - Event Updates

I was really happy to be able to get VIP tickets for The Queen Is Dead: Long Live Lolita, which is a lolita event in Manchester later this year. I got tickets for both the main day on Saturday, and the tea party on Sunday. The ticket purchasing was a real bloodbath, the first time I've experienced one to this scale before whilst desperately wanting something from it. I was secretly hoping to be able to get VVIP tickets, but I didn't really need them, and I was really happy to find out that a few of my friends also managed to get tickets, including friends from other countries, who I will be meeting for the first time. It was announced recently that the capacity for the tea party will also be increased, meaning more tickets will be available soon, which I am super excited about, since it means I will be able to have more of my friends sat at a table with me. It is so exciting!

I have already started picking out my coordinates for the Saturday, but I have no idea what to wear for the Sunday. The theme is old-school, gothic and punk styles, on Saturday I am planning to wear the black and pink H Naoto birdcage dress in a punky style with boots, but perhaps for the Sunday I might go for a more elegant gothic style, for example maybe one of my Atelier Pierrot corset dresses with my favourite platform heels. There are so many possible outfits and not enough days to wear them on, so I kinda hope that people will be hanging around in Manchester a little longer so maybe I can do other things on Friday and Monday. I don't just hope this because I want to wear more variety of outfits, but also because I'm looking forward to seeing people face-to-face.

I am still looking forward to attending the Be My Valentine event next month! I think I have figured out most of my coord, but I am yet to book accommodation, which is making me feel a little anxious. My biggest struggles have been: Legwear, jewellery and outerwear.

For legwear, I wanted to find some floral lace tights in pink, but I didn't manage to find any I really liked, so either I will wear tights with a floral lace pattern in white, or I will wear pink lace tights with a more structured lace. For jewellery, I know that I want to wear my neant glass white and pink rosary, but since I'm thinking of having an off-the-shoulder blouse I want to have a choker to fill the space around my neck a little better. The other possibility is that I might wear something like the Louise blouse, which would fill the space around my neck a little more, but it has a somewhat less romantic feel, and I can't tuck my sleeves into themselves. For outerwear, I don't want to buy a whole new coat just for white or pink outfits, but I am a little short on outerwear. I can bring the white capelet I have from the Atelier Pierrot Heli-x collab in case I get chilly while I am at the venue, but I will probably just wear the Aletta short coat in black, and take it off when I get inside.

I had a reservation confirmation this morning for a certain little pink cat bag that I am praying will arrive in time for this event. Although if not, I do have a small bag from Fable which will fit the style for the outfit, even though it is a little smaller than I would like to bring with me. I can probably bring a tote bag or something.

Coord Pics