29th January 2024

Pink Gothic Lolita Style Coord

This coordinate is a pink gothic lolita coordinate. Some people are surprised to find out that gothic lolita can also refer to coordinates in pink. The parts of this coordinate that push it towards being gothic lolita are things such as the structure of the corset dress' bodice, the bustling on the skirt, the romantic coffin and rose motifs, and the elegant features of the blouse, sleeves and jabot.

  • Headdress: Atelier Pierrot
  • Corset OP: Atelier Pierrot
  • Blouse: Atelier Pierrot
  • Tights: Unbranded pink lace tights
  • Shoes: Atelier Pierrot
  • Coffin Necklace, Coffin ring: Neant Glass
  • Other rose jewellery: Fleur Belles
  • Floral corsage: Morun X Muuna Stoik

I put together this coordinate for the Be My Valentine event in Edinburgh next month, and this picture was a try-on picture. I really loved the outcome of these pieces together. One issue I had with the coordinate was that it was very warm when I was moving about to take photos. An option I am considering is to swap the blouse for an off-the-shoulder princess sleeve blouse, but I really love how the jabot looks with this. An option to help me to keep cool is to bring a fan, which may be a good option for this, though I would love to find a fan that would match.

Marble coordinate in old-school style

I love this coordinate a lot. It's using a Marble black and white "lace monster" piece that I've been admiring for a while now, over a white fishtail skirt in a matching lace.

  • Headdress: Atelier Pierrot
  • OP: Marble
  • Skirt: Marble
  • Tights: Unbranded white lace tights
  • Shoes: Sheep Puff
  • Choker: Atelier Pierrot
  • Coffin Necklace, Coffin rings: Neant Glass
  • Bracelets: Heather Scott, Thomas Sabo, Vivienne Westwood

I think it's really interesting that this sort of style would probably be considered to be quite ugly by a lot of the western lolita community. There is a lot of bias against black and white coordinates, and this sort of main piece definitely invokes a costumey feel to a lot of people, which is not liked at all. I remember discussing this OP with a few other members of the community, and while most people felt quite neutral towards the piece, there were a few people who were horrified that I would consider picking out a piece like this, and had a very negative reaction towards the raschel lace, and the lacing at the front.

Personally, I feel that we are in a sort of renaissance for this early lolita style. I can understand people who have been in lolita fashion for a while being hesitant about these sorts of styles, after being exposed to early replicas of Marble and Visible pieces. But when Marble as a brand are making pieces that feel solid quality, I don't believe that the assumption that black and white equals ugly and low quality should continue going forwards. If we believe "any design that uses features which appear in low quality replicas is also ugly" it would become damaging to many lolita brands across all styles, especially considering how many brands have had poor quality print replicas.

Well, overall, my clothes are for my own self expression, and personally I really love this coordinate so I'm not too worried about what other people think about it. I just thought it was quite interesting to see so many negative reactions towards the pieces.

Relaxed coordinate featuring pieces from Vallee Lys

I wore this coordinate to go food shopping. It was a really comfortable outfit, featuring pieces from the Atelier Pierrot sister brand Vallee Lys. I like a lot of the pieces from this brand, since they're so easy to wear, and they have a really relaxed feel.

  • Hat: ELK
  • Skirt: Atelier Pierrot
  • Cardigan: Atelier Pierrot
  • Collar: Atelier Pierrot
  • Necklace, Ring: Neant Glass
  • Boots: New Rock

I wore the cardigan with the collar under it, along with the long skirt, to help me keep to a comfortable temperature while moving between inside and outside the supermarket. Although using a lot of gothic piece in black, I think the overall feel of this outfit was not that gothic, which I suppose is the overall style of Vallee Lys.

Coordinate featuring corduroy skirt

This is the coordinate I added a picture of to the front page of my website! I felt like the style worked really well for the design of my website, and I love this beret that looks like a crown so much! It really goes with the title of my website which is "Crow Queen".

  • Hat: Uf
  • Blouse: Atelier Pierrot
  • Skirt: Atelier Pierrot
  • Necklace: Neant Glass
  • Ring: Regal Rose
  • Socks: Metamorphose Temps de Fille
  • Shoes: Steve Madden

I used the necklace to incorporate the pink flower themes across the design a little more. I think that this coord could look a little more polished if I had shortened the necklace a little bit, using a safety pin, and I regretted that I didn't wear the ring that I have which matches the necklace.

Post-soup coordinate

I put on this coordinate following a moment where I had eaten a lot of soup and bread. I felt a little bit bloated or perhaps just overly full, and just needed an outfit that was comfortable and didn't put a lot of pressure on my waist.

  • Bonnet: Physical Drop
  • OP: Heavenly Garden
  • Overdress: Atelier Pierrot
  • Coffin Necklace, Coffin ring: Neant Glass
  • Boots: Clarks

This outfit again is using Atelier Pierrot's Vallee Lys pieces to give a relaxed feel from the overdress/cardigan. While it is using a petticoat to add a lolita silhouette, I felt that this coordinate had begun to lean a little more into styles such as mori, making use of layering and loose fitting pieces. I am not really super familiar with mori style, so this could be wildly inaccurate. But I did feel that the looser shape went really nicely with the longer pendant.

Low-volume coordinate using Marble V-shaped skirt

This coordinate is one which I am wearing for working from home. It's really comfortable and low-effort, and I really love to add the additional dimension of white by using the striped socks and white coffin rosary.

  • Headdress: Moonrise Theater
  • Cutsew: Atelier Pierrot
  • Skirt: Marble
  • Coffin Necklace, Coffin ring: Neant Glass
  • Boots: New Rock

I'm not sure whether I would consider this a lolita coordinate or not, since while it does have some volume in the skirt, and uses brand pieces, I'm aware that the overall look isn't really ticking many boxes for lolita fashion, and I think many would percieve this to be too casual. For this reason I have been hesitant to share it in spaces specific to lolita. My inspiration for this coordinate is the Atelier Pierrot store manager Satsuki, I always admire the way she wears this kind of skirt in a more casual way for her reels.

Edited Backgrounds

Recently I have been trying out putting together pictures where I replace the background with something more interesting or thematic. I'm not sure how these have worked out, and I'm having trouble deciding whether I like them or not, so I wanted to put them together and away from my other coord pics, so that I can think about them a little more. You can see for yourself here.

I think the more colourful background adds an interesting dynamic, but I'm not sure I like how they look a lot more fake. I know that there are many other people who edit their backgrounds, but I just am not sure how much I like how these came out. Well, this sort of background is still a consideration for me, and I think they could be a fun way to mix up places like my Instagram feed which have become a little drab and plain this winter since I started posting more coord pics. But I am still unsure how I feel about the way they look.