6th February 2024

Coord pics

I've been experimenting a little more with collaging more interesting backgrounds into my pictures this week. I decided that as long as I treat it as more of a collage exercise, I am happy with this sort of picture. They're more like an art piece relating to my outfit, than a document of what I did. I mean, what I did was taking photos and editing them anyway, it's not like I'm going to talk in depth about work or going food shopping, I'm taking the pictures to talk about my outfits.

Countryside setting

I created this coordinate because I wanted to put together a coordinate using a pair of shoes that I don't wear that often. Adding the background gave the picture a feel almost like a book cover for a novel with a countryside setting in the past, such as Anne of Green Gables or The Railway Children.

  • Headdress: Atelier Pierrot
  • Shawl: Atelier Pierrot
  • JSK: Wirehead
  • Blouse: Atelier Pierrot
  • Socks: Metamorphose Temps de Filles
  • Shoes: Lotta from Stockholm
  • Necklace: Brandusa Ungurasu Porcelain
  • Ring: Pandora
  • Bag: Bought in Sorrento

Elvis decided to join in when I was taking photos, so I included him in this last picture. He is very cute, and I like him being involved, even if he causes me to trip over frequently. He even matches the coord a little bit!

Castle setting

I wanted to try putting this red underskirt with this Sheglit OP, overall it makes for a very gothic yet comfortable style. I added the castle background because I felt it fit well with a sort of foggy yet romantic atmostphere, and I added the roses to give a little extra depth to the picture. I'm particularly proud of the way I painted shadows into this, which I feel adds some extra visual interest into the background. The castle is called Burg Eltz, and I would love to visit it in real life. Though I would look much smaller if I did.

  • Headdress: Morun X Muuna Stoik
  • Collar: Atelier Pierrot
  • OP: Sheglit
  • Underskirt: Atelier Pierrot
  • Socks: SockShop UK
  • Boots: Clarks
  • Ring: Neant Glass
  • Bows: Physical Drop

New old camera

I had been thinking a little about the way phone camera pictures look, and the sorts of things I want to take pictures of, and I just felt that a lot of the time when I am taking photos that I intend to be more atmospheric, the phone camera doesn't really work in the way I want it to. It's too clear, too cold, too precise. Sometimes I see people using polaroid cameras to get an old photo effect on pictures. While I love the idea of a Polaroid camera, the truth is that they are quite expensive, including the upkeep of the polaroid film especially, and I don't know how I feel about having the photos be output into physical format, and not being stored digitally. But I still want that nostalgic, cluttered feel.

And so yesterday I ordered a digital camera from 2005! I found it on eBay. It's a Sony Cybershot DSC-S90 4.1MP Compact Digital Camera. The stickers are still on the front! I probably paid a little more than I could have if I had gone for an auction, and tried to look for bargains, but to be honest I really wanted one that would work, that was in good condition, and that I'd receive fairly quickly because I'm impatient. And it's definitely a bargain compared to it's price when it was new.

I read a few reviews such as this one (multiple pages) and these two (review, pictures) and I'm feeling pretty confident about my choice so far. It takes AA batteries, and comes with a memory stick to put an SD card into, so that's useful, since I don't need to worry as much about cables. I'm really thankful to the photography community for their well looked-after resources giving a lot of information about cameras over time, which allowed me to make a good informed choice around a camera that somebody like myself might have owned in 2005/2006. I hope I can enjoy taking photos with this camera. I'm also hoping this doesn't turn into me buying up a ton of cameras because I really started feeling that itch when I was looking at eBay for secondhand cameras...